Everyone wants their Lovers Key wedding to be the epitome of perfection. After all, it is a once in a lifetime event that deserves ample preparation. Before you get married, it is important that you secure a marriage license which is valid for 60 days in Florida County. You can secure your marriage license anytime from Monday through Friday during hours of operation which is from 8 am to 4:30 pm.
Steps in applying for a marriage license
First, you have to fill out the marriage application which you can obtain from the office or online. Once you complete the form, you and your spouse-to-be need to appear in person for the marriage license issuance. Before you go to the office, you have to bring your social security number, and state or federal identification card which bears your name and date of birth. Examples of valid identification cards are your passport or driver’s license. Your green cards or birth certificates are not accepted.
Before you sign an affidavit you both need to read the Family Law Handbook. Signing the affidavit proves that you have read and understood the family law. If you want to expedite waiting time, applying online is the best option. Your applications are treated as valid for 30 days. Once it exceeds the grace period, you will need to reapply in the office or online.
You will also have to wait for a 3-day waiting period before you can use your marriage license to exchange vows. It is possible to waive the waiting period if you have both completed the counseling course conducted by an approved Pre-Marital Course Provider. Non-Florida residents do not have a waiting period unless one of you is a Florida resident.
For the 3-day waiting period to be waived, make sure that you bring proof of your pre-marital course completion. The waiting period usually starts on the day you secured your marriage license. In case you lost your marriage license, you can obtain another license by requesting a duplicate license. Obtaining another license does not require a 3-day waiting period.
The marriage licenses you obtained in Florida is valid in any of the 67 counties in Florida. Keep in mind that a marriage license is essential in getting married. You will not be able to start a wedding ceremony unless you comply with this requirement. If you need more information about the Lovers Key wedding, contact a specialist to know your options.